House

This movie was just crazy and beautiful and I loved it so fucking much. I saw a trailer for it, and it looked really silly, and it is, but it’s really poignant too. I laughed a ton, but I also had Feelings.

It’s a Japanese movie, made in 1977, and while it’s a very fun genre piece, it was also made as commentary on the atomic bomb. The set up is simple and goofy — a group of young friends go visit one girl’s aunts. Then increasingly strange things happen. I’m not going to spoil it, but it gets really weird really quick and I love it. It’s gory, but only in a silly way. It’s gross, but always while being fun. My friend was very happy there weren’t any jump scares. It’s a perfect horror movie for wimps who like strange things.

It is so very strange. The special effects are so absurd. They aren’t advanced at all, but the director goes all out. He does things that I’ve never seen before, that I’m pretty sure aren’t supposed to be done, that conventional logic says are bad ideas. But somehow it works. It isn’t a so-bad-it’s-good situation, it’s an honest to god work of art, but parts are very campy. It doesn’t take itself too seriously, which makes the slightly more serious moments hit even harder.

It’s an incredible movie, and I want to watch it again, and read about it, and write about it at length. It really knocked my socks off.

Leave a Reply

