Welcome to Night Vale: a Novel by Jeffery Fink and Joseph Cranor

This was great. This is the first novel based off the podcast, Welcome to Night Vale, which is excellent and I assume you’re already listening to. If you aren’t, fix that. I really enjoy Night Vale, but I’m better at processing text than audio, so reading it instead of listening was great for me. I’m always like a year behind in the podcast because I got behind, and then I’ll catch partway up, and then I get distracted again. I love what it’s doing as episodic radio storytelling, but having a whole novel in that tone is super cool.

It’s such a rich and spooky world. The use of language is still so impeccable and odd. The writing has such specific rhythms that set everything just so slightly askew, and that’s beautiful. The plot was a good mystery, but the real joy is hanging out in this space. The conclusion was lovely, and I liked what it’s saying about the world, but the best part is the atmosphere. If you’re a fan of the show, you should definitely check this out. If you aren’t a fan of the show, what’s wrong with you? I don’t want to be friends anymore.

Leave a Reply

