Backstreet Boys: Show ‘Em What You’re Made Of

Okay um so where to start… So. There was a tumblr post about this movie, and how awesome it was. I don’t really remember what it said, or who posted it or anything. I’m pretty sure I didn’t reblog it. But it was a pretty convincing tumblr post, and I put this movie in my netflix queue, cause like, it sounded interesting, and I like variety. I don’t watch a lot of movies about aging boy bands.

I was a bit too young to really get into the boy bands. The songs of the Backstreet Boys and N’sync were present in my childhood, but I was never attached to either band, and mostly can’t sort their catalog out.

I was more into the younger brother, Aaron Carter. I had both of his CDs when I was little. “Aaron’s Party” is a solid nostalgia jam that I am not willing to look up and see if it’s as embarrassing as I suspect.

I went in hoping for fun/scandalous show business stories. And it had those, looking back at their early shows where they played in high school gyms, their time as German pop stars before finally making it big in America. Which just created a new level of ridiculousness and extravagance.

Their life was so crazy. Just so much. The music business doesn’t exist in the same way anymore, and it’s ridiculous to see how much it’s changed within my lifetime. It isn’t all glamour though. They talk about manager Lou Pearlman, who was responsible for getting them together, but who was also pretty terrible. The boys visit his now abandoned house, and talk about the way things used to be. They went to all of the boys hometowns, and saw where they grew up, and talked about how they got into music. It’s very humanizing to show how having this band was such a huge opportunity for these guys, how it really changed their lives.

This made me care. A lot. Much more than I wanted to. I have a favorite Backstreet Boy now. (It’s A.J. Of course it’s A.J.) By the end of it I had so many feelings. I didn’t want to care about the Backstreet Boys. I don’t want to care about the Backstreet Boys. I don’t care about the Backstreet Boys. I’m not going to start listening to their music, but it was a really good movie, and you shouldn’t judge me for enjoying it so much. It’s on Netflix. I dare you not to get invested.

Leave a Reply

