Assassination Vacation by Sarah Vowell

I really like Sarah Vowell. She reminds me of my best friend, who is also a very grumpy history nerd. She’s the kind of person I’d like to hang out with. This is her book about presidential assassinations, and it’s a lot of fun. I know that sounds weird, but it is, that’s her thing. She makes presidential assassinations fun. I learned things from this book, and it made me laugh and think a lot. This book is ten years old, and came out towards the start of Bush’s second term. Her political concerns reflect this, which mean they’re pretty different than my own right now, but I remember this time, even if I was young. She does a really good job at tying current events back to historical happens, showing how America’s past created its present, and why we shouldn’t fuck up the future. Very good book.

Leave a Reply

