top music of 2014, ten months late

It’s October, and it’s actually starting to feel like fall, and hockey is almost back, which means it is basically almost winter and the year is going to be over before we know it. I’m starting to get excited about making my highlights of 2015 list, and realized that I had never posted my favorite albums of 2014. I think that if I spent more time deliberating, and went over my list again with the benefit of ten months more listening it would probably be a little bit different. But I’m not going to do that because that seems ridiculous. This was where I was in January, and I’m willing to stand behind it.

  1. Divorcee – st
  2. Dem Atlas – DWNR
  3. The Hotelier – Home, Like Noplace Is There
  4. Cymbals Eat Guitars – LOSE
  5. Jeremy Messersmith – Heart Murmurs
  6. Ought – More Than Any Other Day
  7. Cheap Girls – Famous Graves
  8. Angel Olsen – Burn Your Fire for No One
  9. Against Me! – Transgender Dysphoria Blues
  10. Sifu Hotman – Embrace the Sun
  11. Waxahatchee – Cerulean Salt

also special recognition to songs that aren’t on one of those albums

  • Buck 65 – “Super Pretty Naughty”
  • Taylor Swift – “Blank Space” (I haven’t heard this album yet)
  • Howler – “Don’t Wanna”
  • Perfume Genius – “Queen”
One thought on “top music of 2014, ten months late

  1. Pingback: how big is the sound of 2015 | Bess in MPLS

Leave a Reply

