The Mirage by Matt Ruff

I’m not sure what to make of this book, but in a good way. I read it in July, and haven’t been able to get enough of a hold on my thoughts to write about it. It’s an alternate history set in the United Arab States. It addresses the post 9/11 world landscape in a very interesting way. I enjoyed reading it, and think there’s more I could have gotten out of it if I had put in more energy. The politics are interesting, but it isn’t all fable, the plot is compelling as well.

(semi spoiler) I like the ambiguity of the ending. It leaves the reader with the possibility of the unknown, asking us what kind of new world we can imagine ourselves instead of filling in the blanks. But in another mood I might have found this frustrating.

I liked it enough that I’d recommend it, so now you can go and read it, and we can talk about it, and maybe then I’ll have clearer thoughts about it.

Leave a Reply

