Louis Riel: a comic book biography by Chester Brown

This is what good history texts should be. It’s accessible, and interesting, and I actually learned things. I didn’t know anything about this piece of history, now I kind of do. I read the anniversary edition, which was well contextualized, and from the endnotes it’s clearly well researched. This is an enjoyable creative scholarly work. It’s even a good story. The art is clear, functional but stylish as well.

My best friend is a year away from being the most amazing high school history teacher, and this is the type of book I can imagine her making students read. Well, except for how it’s about Canadian history, which we don’t really learn about in American high schools. But it’s the kind of book the alternate universe Canadian version of my BFF would make kids read.

Leave a Reply

