Cyborg Citizen: Politics in the Posthuman Age by Chris Hables Gray

This was the most interesting book I’ve read in ages. I don’t agree with all of his ideas, but they were all interesting. This is something I need to read again, and make my partner read so we can talk about it, and probably write paper about. It brings up so many things that I want to think about more.

My review here isn’t going into depth at all, isn’t capturing the scope or theories of the book, but I really enjoyed reading it. For academic writing it’s very accessible and readable. Gray is an anarchist leaning feminist, which means we’re on the same page about a lot of shit, but there are things I didn’t agree with him on. Donna Haraway’s influence is obvious, not just in the central concept of cyborgs, but in his understanding that he can’t understand everything, but only a piece of it. I’m not sure if he ever settled on a conclusion, more interested in bringing up different aspects of the cyborg world we’re living in.

This was published in 2001, and a lot of the futurism still feels fresh, but there are some parts where the last fourteen years haven’t been kind. Gray ideas about our present couldn’t have accounted for 9/11. More curiously he doesn’t anticipate the smartphone, which would be at the top of my list of ways that most 2015 humans are cyborgs.

This was a supremely interesting book, one that I definitely plan to return to.

Leave a Reply

