Only Lovers Left Alive

I liked this movie, but not as much as I thought I would. Jim Jarmusch dirrected a movie about rock’n’roll vampires, starring Tilda Swinton and Tom Hiddleston. That sounds exactly like a movie I would love.

Right after watching I felt underwhelmed, but now that I’m thinking about it and trying to write about it I keep on remembering more little things I like. There were lots of great little moments. There were lots of knowing nods.

It’s a very quiet vampire movie. Like, in terms of action. There was a lot of music, and it was all great. Not much happens. That’s kind of the point. It feels endless, and their lives are endless, and they don’t know what they’re doing with their lives. They’re just doing stuff. They’re just filling up the days, passing time, trying to not get too bored with the world. They’re too cool to really care about things, or maybe they’re just too undead, but nothing that happens is going to rattle them.

That doesn’t make for a super exciting movie, but that’s alright. That’s the point. It’s almost too cool for its own good. They’re so detached from the world, so aloof, and that makes their lives after death vague and shapeless.

It’s a different take on vampires, which I appreciated, and think I might enjoy more if I watch it again with different expectations.

Leave a Reply

