Mad Max: Fury Road

I’ve seen Mad Max twice now, and I’m still figuring out what I want to say about it.

It’s great. It has really good energy. The effects are great, the world building is awesome, it’s well acted, the sound design and score is fantastic. It’s a very well made movie.

I like that there are lots of different sorts of women characters, and they’re different, and cool in different ways.They have strengths and weaknesses and personalities. I like that women talk to each other, and care about each other, and make things happen. That’s rare for an action movie. They’re interesting, and beautiful, and tough, and vulnerable, and important.

It’s amazing that this movie exists. It’s about women working together to overthrow the patriarchy. The two known male actors are unrecognizable or mostly mute. Tom Hardy is Max, and he does a great job, but he’s more of an accessory to another story. He has his role, and he matters, but the movie is much bigger than him.

I think I’m going to have to watch this movie about five more times before I have a real understanding of what I want to say about it. It’s that special. It’s easily my favorite movie of the year so far.

Leave a Reply

