Kingsman: the Secret Service

Fuck Mark Millar.

I don’t remember when in this movie I thought, “I bet this was based on a Mark Millar comic,” but it was no surprise to see his name in the credits.

Millar has a distinct style of over exaggerated comic violence. This was my least favorite part of Kingsmen. I liked the set up. I liked the backstory of the organization. I liked the ridiculous villains, and the ridiculous heros, and the ultra-Bond style. But then the action parts are all incredibly gory and jokey at the same time, and that’s really off putting. So Mark Millar.

The absurd action sequences get in the way of a fun story, and a decent heart. It didn’t ruin the movie, but it pissed me off.

Looking past that there were things to like. Colin Firth was very Colin Firth — I mean this as a compliment. Taron Egerton as Eggsy was a wonderful underdog, and it helps that he’s a babe. Roxy was a great character. I don’t know if Sam Jackson’s character really worked, but it’s obvious he was having fun. The world of the movie was nicely stylish, well shot.

The most interesting part of the movie was the villain’s plot, which involved giving everyone free wifi and cell service. The idea of access to this sort of stuff, and who’s controlling it in the background feels like a very important issue to address. It’s the kind of thing more villains should be trying to control, past the real world cable companies. The villain’s worry about global warming and overpopulation felt overdone, but his methods felt like a step into something new.

But really. Fuck Mark Millar.

I liked this movie alright, but I would have enjoyed it a lot more if the adaptation hadn’t stuck so closely to his style.

Leave a Reply

